Siren Says

Answering the siren call of desire

  • Archives

How Does Your Autumn Go?

Posted by sirensays on October 19, 2009


Sunset Silhouette by Gladys W., thenakedartisan.com

Sunset Silhouette by Gladys W., thenakedartisan.com

Are you enjoying your Autumn? Have you been able to slow down, enjoy, focus more on leisure activities? Or does Autumn rev you up, filling you with brisk energy & efficiency? Are you celebrating Halloween, Samhain or perhaps both? Does this season seem full of mystery & enchantment for you, or does it deplete you? If you’d like to let me know what you think of Autumn, via quotes or photos, please send them to: siren.says (at) yahoo (dot) com. Below are some photos and thoughts from others.
Autumn Beach, San Gregorio, CA

Autumn Beach, San Gregorio, CA

From Gladys W., professional photographer at thenakedartisan.com: Fall is my favorite season of the year.  The air is crisp and clean.  The sunlight is still warm, but takes on a tea-colored hue in the late afternoons.  The trees start dropping crisp, brown leaves that crunch deliciously under foot.  Nights are cool; perfect for cuddling with your favorite person to watch fall TV or a rented movie.  Food becomes earthy and rich with onions, mushrooms, potatoes, turnips and carrots simmering along side rich meats in autumnal stews.  And when not filled with the smells of savory meals, the air is often filled with the scent of baked goods to both warm the hearth and the heart of those who share in them.  The skies are filled with the sounds of migrating birds seeking warmer nesting grounds.  Candles burn and lights start to sparkle to bring warmth to the darkness that rules during this time of year.  For me, fall is when my friends gather to share laughter, wine, and company.  Even though the world is slowing down, I am energized by the changes of this season, and I look forward to it each and every year.

The Sombrero Gladys W. thenakedartisan.com

The Sombrero Gladys W. thenakedartisan.com

Southwest Autumn by Kristina H.

Southwest Autumn by Kristina H.

Mike B. says: It’s cold, it’s clear, and it’s a good time to reconsider next year’s goals.

Elly P. says: It is funny, because I noticed at the beginning of last week that feeling that someone had flipped a switch and summer had turned to autumn.  I think of myself as a summer person, and I love spring, when you can feel everything springing into life, so the end of summer shouldn’t be a good time for me! But I have enjoyed the last few days, maybe I like the change of summer to autumn – the contrast.  The sense of knowing that the nights are closing in, it is time to hunker down with family, warming food and a fluffy blanket and wait for spring 🙂

Autumn in California by Jenna M.

Autumn in California by Jenna M.

Jenna M.’s thoughts: I love Autumn!   The crisp air blows away my internal cobwebs and the changing colors warm my soul.  Mother Nature is winking at me.  The magic and abundance of the season leaves me feeling so filled up.

Autumn in Texas by Kristina H.

Autumn in Texas by Kristina H.

Autumn Tomatoes by Jenna M.

Autumn Tomatoes by Jenna M.

Elizabeth W. is a big fan of October & has the photos & quotes to prove it:  October is by far my favorite month of the year and always has been.  Not only is it the month of my birthday (and I LOVE birthdays), but it is also the month when I met my husband, the month of my wedding anniversary, my favorite season (Autumn), the time of the Harvest, some of the best weather we have in Northern California, my favorite holiday (Halloween), the birthdays of many friends and family members, and of course, pumpkins!!!

I have had an affinity for Autumn, Halloween and pumpkins ever since I can remember.  Growing up, one of my most prized birthday gifts each year was a jumbo pumpkin, which I always got to carve and decorate myself.  Now that I am a mother, it is important to me that I teach my son about my own love for pumpkins and Halloween.  Very often during October you can hear him squeal with delight “Pumpkins! Pumpkins! Pumpkins!” (just as I do), whenever we frequent a pumpkin patch.

Pumpkin's Anatomy by Elizabeth W.

Pumpkin's Anatomy by Elizabeth W.

A Plethora of Pumpkins by Elizabeth W.

A Plethora of Pumpkins by Elizabeth W.

Early Autumn Corn in California by Elizabeth W.

Early Autumn Corn in California by Elizabeth W.

Rainbow and Pumpkin by Elizabeth W.

Rainbow and Pumpkin by Elizabeth W.

Autumn Tree by Jenna M.

Leave a Reply

 
