Siren Says

Answering the siren call of desire

  • Archives

Interview With Pagan Author, Garden Witch Ellen Dugan!

Posted by sirensays on October 5, 2009


The lovely Ellen Dugan, author & garden witch

The lovely Ellen Dugan, author known as The Garden Witch photo by Micki Mueller

Prolific Neo-Pagan author, gardener, Priestess, mom and wife Ellen Dugan graciously took time out recently from her busy schedule to answer Siren Says’s questions and tell us about her writing.

SS blog: In a nutshell (pun intended) what do you like the best about Autumn, the Autumn Sabbats and Harvest Time?

ED:  The colors, the scents, and the enchanting feel in the air. It’s a season of change and abundance. The Fall is my favorite time of the year!

SS blog: Can you describe how you best like to celebrate this time of year?

The Element of Air photo by Kristina Hathaway

The Element of Air photo by Kristina Hathaway

ED: In quiet and profound ways. The family goes apple picking, I add fall flowers and spring bulbs into the garden… I decorate the mantle in the living room with seasonal items. I always cook a big meal to celebrate the day with my family.

SS blog: What was your first published book and what drove you to write it?

Element of Earth photo by Jenna Mahina

Element of Earth photo by Jenna Mahina

ED: Garden Witchery: Magick from the Ground Up was my first book. I wrote the book because I never found the exact kind of down-to-earth magickal book that I wanted to read so I decided, why not write one myself?

SS blog: What inspired you to write Autumn Equinox: The Enchantment of Mabon?

ED: I was approached by Llewellyn when I turned in the proposal for my fourth book, Cottage Witchery; Natural Magick for Hearth and Home. After they decided to contract it I was asked if I would be interested in writing one of the Sabbats books. I said yes, and ended up having 2 books contracted on the same day!

Pimpinks - Symbol of Fall photo by Elizabeth Crandall Whittom

Pumpkins - Symbol of Fall photo by Elizabeth Crandall Whittom

SS blog: What can you tell us about your latest book, coming out in October – Book of Witchery: Spells, Charms & Correspondences for Every Day of the Week?

ED: Here is the book description for Book of Witchery: “Witchery isn’t limited to the Sabbats and to the occasional full moon; magick happens every day. In this treasury of enchantments, spells and witchery, popular author Ellen Dugan presents her personal grimoire of magick essentials to keep you happily conjuring seven days a week! Formerly available as 7 Days of Magic, new and advanced material has more than doubled the witchy wisdom within these pages, yet it still fits into a busy Witch’s schedule. As you learn daily magickal correspondences and themes, you’ll build a solid foundation of knowledge and open up amazing possibilities for highly effective spellwork and witchery each and every day.”

SS blog: What are your plans to celebrate its publication?

ED: I have several author events scheduled from October 2009 through April 2010. To see my tour schedule please visit my website (www.ellendugan.com) and click on the “Tours” tab.

SS blog: How are your online classes being received? Do you have any more in the works?

ED: The online classes are really popular and have been very well received. At the moment I am offering three separate classes:

The Autumn Sabbats (Seasonal stand alone class available through November 3rd)

The Elements of Witchcraft (Witchery Class I)

Advanced Natural Magick (Witchery Class II)

Yes, I do have another class in the works for the winter months. I’ll put that up after the Autumn Sabbats Class comes down. For more information or to sign up for a class please visit my website and click on the “Online Classes” page.  Or sign up for my newsletter through my Café Press store.

The Element of Water, photo by Kristina Hathaway

The Element of Water, photo by Kristina Hathaway

SS blog: Your books seem to gracefully run the gamut from beginners to those well-versed in magic. Was that intentional, and/or does it reflect your own journey?

ED: It still shocks me to be working on my twelfth book. I never expected to write so many. In answer to your question, I think it’s a little of both. I was either compelled to write on the topic or it was pitched to me by Llewellyn. For example, Autumn Equinox, Herb Magic for Beginners and How to Enchant a Man were all pitched to me by Llewellyn and they seemed like fun so I ran with it.

SS blog: What do your readers say? Do you have many non-Wiccan readers?

ED: Yes, actually I’m the Crossover Kid. Many of my titles have successfully crossed over to mainstream markets. I do have many readers who are not Witches or Pagan.  I meet more every time I do an author event. The response to all of the books has been overwhelmingly positive.

SS blog: Can you share with us any upcoming projects or other books you want to write?

ED: At the moment I am working on my twelfth book for Llewellyn. It was just recently contracted and will be released in early 2011. I never announce the working title or the topic of the book until after it is finished and safely turned into the publishing company.

The Element of Fire (with Bast statue)

The Element of Fire (with Bast statue)

SS blog: Ellen, can you leave us with any witchy words of wisdom?

ED: May your harvest season be an enchanting one, blessed with abundance of the Autumn Equinox and the mysterious magick of the season. Hurray Autumn is here! The Season of the Witch has begun!

Blessed be, Ellen Dugan

Ellen can be vsited via Facebook, Myspace, her wbsite and her online store:

Ellen’s website: www.ellendugan.com

Ellen’s online store: www.cafepress.com/ellendugan

Myspace www.myspace.com/ellendugan

Word press blog: http://ellendugan.wordpress.com

I love Ellen’s blog and website, as well as her presence on MySpace with all the lovely garden and plant photos. I hope you surf on over to see what I’m talking about – this is a magical worker who really knows her way around plants, animals and the natural world. Eleen’s always encouraging people to get outdoors, get their hands in the dirt, plant some flowers and herbs, to learn about the natural world and experience its never ending magic. May your Autumn be full of outdoor magic!

Leave a Reply

 
