Siren Says

Answering the siren call of desire

  • Archives

Speaking of Charm School…Witch Girl Bunny That Is!

Posted by sirensays on August 20, 2009


One of my guiltless pleasures has been indulging in the marvelous series Charm School by Elizabeth Watasin, featuring feminine, lovely, good witch heroine Bunny, her girlfriend, the vampire biker Dean, and a dark faerie named Fairer Than, who has the hots for Bunny. It’s a little bit like a queer Grease meets the Munsters.

Yes, I did type that Bunny has a girlfriend named Dean. Dean’s butchy, tough, smart and fast to react. Fairer Than is clever, deep and sexy, a butt-kicker of vampires –  and disturbingly alluring. Bunny, who’s good, blonde, lovely, sweet and not at all dumb, has some super cool advisers and aunties. In fact, these more minor characters are among my favorites: Pippita, demon-witch friend; The Aunties who guard Bunny’s virtue and good name –  Agoosta, Weirdette and Hauntette; and the not-to-be-forgotten Blanchette, the Voodoo Priestess/Princess and witch friend.

I love the story arcs, the art, the ideas, the unapologetic gayness and year round Halloweenness of it all. I didn’t realize that buying these might have made a statement about my lifestyle and sexual preference til one night I was in the comic book store with another straight friend, a woman. I had rushed over with her to get the latest issue and show her more Bunny and crew. While she was somewhat enamored, she was too embarrassed to purchase, “in case they” thought she was gay. When I asked her who “they” were, she gestured around the store, and sotto voce said, “You know, anyone here.” I guess she was referring to the adolescents perusing comics and graphic novels and the store clerk who couldn’t have cared less who we were or what our sexual preference was. I just rolled my eyes and bought my Bunny.

I realize now that I didn’t even realize way back when I bought my first Bunny book that she was gay. It just didn’t matter. It still doesn’t. But I’m writing about this because aside from the cool art, fun characters and intriguing twist on an age-old main plot which all means I recommend the Charm School series,  it shows how we can be stopped by our fear of what “they” might think. Not even of what “they” are thinking or have thought, but what “they” may think. May think. May not. In that moment. Or forever. Or not.

While I understand and even sympathize a bit with my friend, I am so glad to have Bunny and her cohorts in my life, warts and all (pun intended)! I relate a little bit to all the characters, as readers are meant to do, which tells me that Elizabeth has done a good job. I think the Charm School series is a great way for people who are witchily-faeriely-or-vampirely inclined to get more comfy with BGLT issues if they aren’t already. Or for BGLT folks to get more comfy with the more witchy/fey/vampirish amongst us. Or for the families and loved ones of all the above!

Speaking of getting comfy with BGLT issues, there are some folks out there besides activists and comic book writers who are doing their part to educate the rest of us on the relevancy of not just tolerating, but actually accepting and welcoming the BGLT community. Some of these folks are even church members who took a long, hard look at themselves and decided that their own values weren’t up to snuff. The folks to whom I am referring are Unitarian Universalists. They count among their many prominent past members John Quincy Adams, Charles Dickens, Clara Barton, Clarence Darrow, Kurt Vonnegut and one of my all time favorites, Beatrix Potter.

The Unitarians (my church of choice) this year celebrate 20 years of formally including the BGLT community with a program called Welcoming Congregation.  This volunteer program is a certification from the OBGLTC (Office of Bisexual Gay Lesbian and Transgender Concerns, a Unitarian Universalist Identity-Based Ministry) that many Unitarian congregations work towards acquiring.

welcoming

The Welcoming Congregation vision is also looking beyond BGLT issues into the other oppressive isms that reduce us and make us feel unwanted, undervalued, marginalized and plain old other. If you are lucky enough to have a Unitarian Universalist Church in your area, check out their free religious education programs that might include Welcoming Congregation offerings.

If you don’t mind what “they might think,” check out the Charm School series. It’s a creative, fun way for us to remember that we all feel like freaks, geeks and ghouls at times – that we are all other as well as not.

Tacky Witch Girl

So go out and get yourself some Charm School, Unitarian Universalism or both and let me know what you think.

3 Responses to “Speaking of Charm School…Witch Girl Bunny That Is!”

  1. […] here to read the rest: Speaking of Charm School…Witch Girl Bunny That Is! Posted by admin Filed in RSS News No Comments […]

  2. Elka Vera said

    I am thrilled to know about this! What an awesome creation: “Charm School”

Leave a Reply

 
